Second paperback printing is out!

 

Winner of the 2010 RFK Book Award

www.rfkcenter.org

 

Are our courts beyond repaiR?

Read a proposal to fix our courts....

www.nytimes.com/2010/08/11/opinion/11bach.html


 

“One of the most powerful and important books on the law published in 2009…”.

National Law Journal

 

“This is a magnificent work, a crusading call for reform in the tradition of Rachel Carson’s Silent Spring or Ralph Nader’s Unsafe at Any Speed…This groundbreaking book deserves widespread attention.”

Doris Kearns Goodwin, author of Team of Rivals

 

"In different places across the country Amy Bach watched what went on in courtrooms. Her accounts of what she saw should open others' eyes to unwelcome reality. It is a revealing and important book."

The New York Review of Books

 

“Amy Bach, a writer and attorney, has found a powerful and frightening story in the day-to-day workings of the justice system and, in particular, how it fails to live up to its ideals – ]the routine injustice,’ she writes, ‘is happening in courtrooms across the country.’”

Chicago Tribune

 

"It takes an attorney to investigate state county courtrooms, and Bach’s research reads like a novel."

The Providence Journal

 

 

 

 

“Ordinary injustice results when a community of legal professionals becomes so accustomed to a pattern of lapses that they can no longer see their role in them.”